New year, new me? 

Not quite. I don’t tend to make new years resolutions as I’ll only beat myself if (when?) I don’t achieve them. 

That being said, there are a number of things I want to achieve in 2017. Unsurprisingly they are all yarn related. 

In no particular order:

1. Learn to crochet with thread. 

This one scares me a little. I’m not sure if my short fat fingers will be able to manage! There are some beautiful things that can be created with crochet thread, and some lovely colours. Though doilies may be old fashioned I think they can look great in a frame as a work of art. 

2. Learn Tunisian crochet. 

I’ve toyed with this in the past and it’s a fascinating method. Again, some amazing things can be done with texture and colour and it has a completely different look to traditional crochet. 

3. Design something and write a pattern. 

So far the majority of what I’ve done has been from other people’s patterns. Now I want to branch out and create my own. 

4. Teach. 

I’ve already run a few workshops and thoroughly enjoyed it. Few things are better than sharing a skill you love. 

5. Promote craft as therapy. 

Something close to my heart. I feel very strongly that crafts can have a major benefit in the management of mental health problems. I would like to focus in particular on men’s mental health. Most crafts are traditionally seen as ‘women’s things’ but there is absolutely no reason that this should be the case. Mental health problems among men are rising at an alarming rate and men don’t tend to seek help until they reach crisis point. I know from my own experience that that having something to focus on can be a big help. 

6. Challenging perceptions. 

Hand in hand with the above is to try to break down  some barriers that stop men from wanting to take up crafts, in particular yarn crafts. It’s a no-brainer for me. ‘Try it, you might like it.’  The issue of ‘masculinity’ is a contentious one. How does it make you less of a man if you like to crochet or knit? But this is the issue that keeps men away. Anyway, it doesn’t matter what other people think. 

So, some lofty ambitions. I’ve no idea yet how I’m going to go about some of them. But I’m sure I’ll have fun trying! 

Just remember to challenge yourself every day.  

Leave a Reply

